Ancestry Blog » Kenny Freestone http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry The official blog of Ancestry Fri, 24 Oct 2014 21:53:53 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.5.2 In Minutes You Can Preserve Centurieshttp://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/10/29/in-minutes-you-can-preserve-centuries/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=in-minutes-you-can-preserve-centuries http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/10/29/in-minutes-you-can-preserve-centuries/#comments Fri, 29 Oct 2010 16:21:12 +0000 Kenny Freestone http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/?p=4881 Read more]]> They say a picture is worth a thousand words.  Some pictures, however, are priceless.

For example, these photos of my grandpa Jerry Ogden (who died when I was too young to have any memory of him) are priceless to me.
 
Our ancestors were living, breathing people. And they left behind visual cues to their lives, like photographs, documents and stories. When you add these details to your tree family, the history you share is more exciting and complete, and it’s a great way to get kids or grandkids interested in learning more.

Sometimes scanning in all those pictures can feel like an overwhelming project, but it can go pretty quickly with a digital camera.  A few months ago while visiting my grandma, I grabbed my camera and quickly photographed a bunch of papers and artifacts from grandpa’s world war II days.
 
It took less than an hour to preserve the whole shoebox.  So go dig out those old boxes of photos and documents and put them somewhere everyone can appreciate them — in your Ancestry.com family tree.

Your family tree can be either public or private, so you can share those family photos and memories with just your relatives, or you can also let everyone enjoy Grandpa’s incredible handlebar mustache.
 

We’ve recently made lots of improvements to make uploading all kinds of media a snap.

It just takes a few simple steps:
 
1.  Click on an ancestor in your family tree.
2.  Click the “upload photos” link in the media gallery.
3.  Select the images you want to add from your computer.
4.  That’s it.

]]>
http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/10/29/in-minutes-you-can-preserve-centuries/feed/ 11
Link photos to sources in your family treehttp://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/07/15/link-photos-to-sources-in-your-family-tree/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=link-photos-to-sources-in-your-family-tree http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/07/15/link-photos-to-sources-in-your-family-tree/#comments Thu, 15 Jul 2010 22:37:36 +0000 Kenny Freestone http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/?p=4280 Read more]]> You’ve likely heard that a picture is worth a thousand words, and when it comes to creating source citations in your family tree, it is so true.

We have recently added the ability to associate pictures and scanned documents to source citations you have created in your family tree:

These items not only add color and interest to your work, but also help to document your work and show off your evidence and sources.

Here is how it can work for you.  Say you have an event in your timeline that doesn’t have a source.  In this case I have an “illness” event in my timeline for John Kennedy.

 

 

I can select a media file I’ve uploaded, and use that to create a source citation for this event.

The image then becomes the beginning of a source citation that I can apply to the “illness” event on my timeline.

Then when others look to see how I know this information about John Kennedy, they will see the scanned image I uploaded.  You can also add media to the source citation directly from this page.

An additional change we made is to show all source citations on the overview section of the person profile, rather than just the attached historical records from Ancestry.com  The goal with this change is to make it more clear what evidence supports the facts in the timeline.  We’ve received some early feedback on this that raises concerns on the implementation, and so we are reviewing this section and will update you on changes we make to it.

Also a few folks have mentioned that URLs in sources are not working as they were before–we are now aware of this bug and are working on a fix.

 

]]>
http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/07/15/link-photos-to-sources-in-your-family-tree/feed/ 36
New Photo Upload Toolhttp://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/05/06/new-photo-upload-tool/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=new-photo-upload-tool http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/05/06/new-photo-upload-tool/#comments Thu, 06 May 2010 14:49:42 +0000 Kenny Freestone http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/?p=3791 Read more]]> Today we added to the site a new tool to help you quickly and simply upload multiple family history photos and documents at one time.

To try this out in your own family tree, you’ll want to click the “add media” or “add photo” links, just as you would have before this change.  What you will see next is an orange ”Select files…” button.

When you click the “Select files…” button the tool opens your computer’s file directory, and you can select multiple files or just one.  To select multiple files you can use your mouse to highlight several at a time, or you can also pres the “ctrl” key while you click on multiple files.  (On a Mac use the Command key instead of “ctrl”.)  In the image below I’ve selected 10 files to add.

Once I select the files and click the “Open” button, the files begin uploading.  A progress bar shows relatively how long I can expect to wait.

The new upload tool requires Adobe Flash.  The odds are that you are among the 98% of internet users who have Adobe Flash installed.  In case you don’t, we still have the old system available, along with a handy link to install Adobe Flash (which is a free download.).

We’re excited to add this new feature, and think you will all enjoy it.  Please let me know how it works for you by leaving a comment below.

 

]]>
http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/05/06/new-photo-upload-tool/feed/ 40
Family Tree Maintenance Tonight (27 April 11:30 PM MST)http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/04/27/family-tree-maintenance-tonight-27-april-1130-pm-mst/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=family-tree-maintenance-tonight-27-april-1130-pm-mst http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/04/27/family-tree-maintenance-tonight-27-april-1130-pm-mst/#comments Tue, 27 Apr 2010 22:54:55 +0000 Kenny Freestone http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/?p=3729 Read more]]> The Ancestry.com Family Tree Service will undergo scheduled maintenance tonight for a short time beginning at about 11:30 PM Mountain Standard Time.

During this time Ancestry Member Trees, OneWorldTree, some portions of My Canvas, the sections of the Home Page that are related to Member Trees, and the sections of MyFamily.com that are related to Member Trees will be unavailable.

For the vast majority of our members living outside Mountain Time, 11:30 PM MST is the same as…

Coordinated Universal Time: 06:30
In London: 6:30 AM
In Melbourne: 5:30 PM
In San Francisco: 10:30 PM
In New York: 1:30 AM
In Moscow: 9:30 AM
In Rome: 7:30 AM
In Tokyo: 3:30 PM

]]>
http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/04/27/family-tree-maintenance-tonight-27-april-1130-pm-mst/feed/ 22
Link Photos to Events in your Family Treehttp://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/02/11/link-photos-to-events-in-your-family-tree/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=link-photos-to-events-in-your-family-tree http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/02/11/link-photos-to-events-in-your-family-tree/#comments Thu, 11 Feb 2010 15:41:12 +0000 Kenny Freestone http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/?p=2936 Read more]]> We’ve recently added the ability to link photos (or other files like stories, audio, and video) to any fact or event you have for a person in your family tree.

link photos to events in your family tree

Adding photos and stories to your family tree can create a much richer history of your ancestors’ lives, and make it much more interesting when sharing it with children and grandchildren.  Where previously you could only add a date, place and description to describe key moments in your ancestors lives, now you can add images, stories, audio, and video to make these important events that much more exciting to share and preserve.

Of course, many of you have already uploaded photos that are connected to events in your family tree.  We’ve created a simple way to link photos you have already uploaded as well as tools to upload additional photos.
]]>
http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/02/11/link-photos-to-events-in-your-family-tree/feed/ 313
Family Tree Maintenance Tonight (10 February 11:00 PM MST)http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/02/10/family-tree-maintenance-tonight-10-february-1100-pm-mst/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=family-tree-maintenance-tonight-10-february-1100-pm-mst http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/02/10/family-tree-maintenance-tonight-10-february-1100-pm-mst/#comments Wed, 10 Feb 2010 23:22:55 +0000 Kenny Freestone http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/?p=2953 Read more]]>

The Ancestry.com Family Tree Service will undergo scheduled maintenance tonight for a few hours beginning at about 11:00 PM Mountain Standard Time.

During this time Ancestry Member Trees, OneWorldTree, some portions of My Canvas, the sections of the Home Page that are related to Member Trees, and the sections of MyFamily.com 2.0 that are related to Member Trees will be unavailable.

For the vast majority of our members living outside Mountain Time, 11:00 PM MST is the same as…

Coordinated Universal Time: 06:00
In London: 6:00 AM
In Melbourne: 5:00 PM
In San Francisco: 10:00 PM
In New York: 1:00 AM
In Moscow: 9:00 AM
In Rome: 7:00 AM
In Tokyo: 3:00 PM

]]>
http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/02/10/family-tree-maintenance-tonight-10-february-1100-pm-mst/feed/ 51
Scheduled Family Tree Maintenance (28 January, midnight-1:30 AM MST)http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/01/27/scheduled-family-tree-maintenance-28-january-midnight-130-am-mst/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=scheduled-family-tree-maintenance-28-january-midnight-130-am-mst http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/01/27/scheduled-family-tree-maintenance-28-january-midnight-130-am-mst/#comments Wed, 27 Jan 2010 21:23:02 +0000 Kenny Freestone http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/?p=2849 Read more]]> Please be aware that the Ancestry.com Family Tree Service will undergo scheduled maintenance early Thursday morning, 28 January 2010, from 12:00 AM to 1:30 AM Mountain Standard Time.

This tree service downtime will affect Ancestry Member Trees, OneWorldTree, some portions of My Canvas, the sections of the Home Page that are related to Member Trees, and the sections of MyFamily.com 2.0 that are related to Member Trees. Other than that, all other areas of the site will remain functional.

For the vast majority of our members living outside Mountain Daylight Time, 12:00 – 1:30 AM MST is the same as…

Coordinated Universal Time: 07:00 – 8:30 AM
In London: 7:00 – 8:30 AM
In Melbourne: 6:00 – 7:30 PM
In San Francisco: 11:00 PM – 12:30 AM
In New York: 2:00 – 3:30 AM
In Moscow: 10:00 AM – 11:30 AM
In Rome: 8:00 – 9:30 AM
In Tokyo: 4:00 – 5:30 PM

]]>
http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/01/27/scheduled-family-tree-maintenance-28-january-midnight-130-am-mst/feed/ 67
Scheduled Family Tree Maintenance (21 January, midnight-3 AM MST)http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/01/20/scheduled-family-tree-maintenance-21-january-midnight-3-am-mst/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=scheduled-family-tree-maintenance-21-january-midnight-3-am-mst http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/01/20/scheduled-family-tree-maintenance-21-january-midnight-3-am-mst/#comments Wed, 20 Jan 2010 20:42:30 +0000 Kenny Freestone http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/?p=2770 Read more]]> Please be aware that the Ancestry.com Family Tree Service will undergo scheduled maintenance on Thursday 21 January 2010, from 12:00 AM to 3:00 AM Mountain Standard Time.

This tree service downtime will affect Ancestry Member Trees, OneWorldTree, our new Tree To Go iPhone app,  some portions of My Canvas, the sections of the Home Page that are related to Member Trees, and the sections of MyFamily.com 2.0 that are related to Member Trees. Other than that, all other areas of the site will remain functional.

For the vast majority of our members living outside Mountain Daylight Time, 12:00 – 3:00 AM MDT is the same as…

Coordinated Universal Time: 07:00 – 10:00 AM
In London: 7:00 – 10:00 AM
In Melbourne: 6:00 – 9:00 PM
In San Francisco: 11:00 PM – 2:00 AM
In New York: 2:00 – 5:00 AM
In Moscow: 10:00 AM – 1:00 PM
In Rome: 8:00 – 11:00 AM
In Tokyo: 4:00 – 7:00 PM

]]>
http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2010/01/20/scheduled-family-tree-maintenance-21-january-midnight-3-am-mst/feed/ 111
Updated Family Tree Previewhttp://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2009/12/04/updated-family-tree-preview/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=updated-family-tree-preview http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2009/12/04/updated-family-tree-preview/#comments Fri, 04 Dec 2009 20:40:05 +0000 Kenny Freestone http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/?p=2515 Read more]]> Today we updated the preview of our new family tree pedigree view.   The updates are based on feedback our members have sent to us as they have experimented with the new view.  In all, thousands of feedback messages have been sent and have been very helpful. 

Based on the feedback we’ve received we are making several changes to the preview.  The result is a visual style more akin to our current pedigree viewer while retaining what’s great about the new one – the ability to pan & zoom, extend beyond 5 generations and do a full-screen view.  The changes to the preview include:

  • Highlighting hints better
  • Making fonts easier to read
  • Making the look and feel of the nodes “warmer”
  • Making a skinnier 5th generation node so we can fit more nodes on the page in the same vertical height 
  • Changing the navigation when you click on a name.  It will now take you to the ancestor profile page instead of making that node the “focus” node.
  • We’ve made the preview “sticky” so that once you enter it we’ll make that your preferred view until you click to exit the preview.

You can see these changes in your own family tree by clicking the link to “Check out a preview of the new pedigree view…” at the top of the pedigree view in your own family tree.

]]>
http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2009/12/04/updated-family-tree-preview/feed/ 53
Scheduled Family Tree Maintenance (10 November 2009, 1-2 AM MST)http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2009/11/09/scheduled-family-tree-maintenance-10-november-2009-1-2-am-mst/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=scheduled-family-tree-maintenance-10-november-2009-1-2-am-mst http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2009/11/09/scheduled-family-tree-maintenance-10-november-2009-1-2-am-mst/#comments Mon, 09 Nov 2009 23:08:53 +0000 Kenny Freestone http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/?p=2445 Read more]]> Please be aware that the Ancestry.com Family Tree Service will undergo scheduled maintenance on Tuesday, 10 November 2009, from 1:00 AM to 2:00 AM Mountain Standard Time.

This tree service downtime will affect Ancestry Member Trees, OneWorldTree, some portions of My Canvas, the sections of the Home Page that are related to Member Trees, and the sections of MyFamily.com 2.0 that are related to Member Trees. Other than that, all other areas of the site will remain functional.

For the vast majority of our members living outside Mountain Daylight Time, 1:00 – 2:00 AM MDT is the same as…

Coordinated Universal Time: 07:00 – 08:00 AM
In London: 8:00 – 9:00 AM
In Melbourne: 5:00 – 6:00 PM
In San Francisco: midnight – 1:00 AM
In New York: 3:00 – 4:00 AM
In Moscow: 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
In Rome: 9:00 – 10:00 AM
In Tokyo: 4:00 – 5:00 PM

]]>
http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2009/11/09/scheduled-family-tree-maintenance-10-november-2009-1-2-am-mst/feed/ 71