Ancestry.com

Scheduled Family Tree Maintenance (24 Aug, 1:00-3:00 AM MDT)

Posted by jhodnett on August 23, 2011 in Family Trees

Please be aware that Ancestry.com Member Trees will undergo scheduled maintenance early Wednesday morning, 24 August 2011, from about 1:00 AM to 3:00 AM Mountain Daylight Time. 

We will be updating the servers that provide member uploaded photos, so some portions of Ancestry Member Trees, My Canvas, and any other areas of the site that display member contributed images, will not function properly.    You will still be able to access and make edits to your tree data, but you will not be able to add or delete photos or import or export a GEDCOM file. 

For the vast majority of our members living outside Mountain Daylight Time, 1:00 – 3:00 AM MDT is the same as… 

Coordinated Universal Time: 7:00 – 9:00 AM
In London: 8:00 – 10:00 AM
In Sydney: 5:00 – 7:00 PM
In San Francisco: 12:00 AM – 2:00 AM
In New York: 3:00 – 5:00 AM

10 comments

Comments
1 SCWBCMAugust 23, 2011 at 4:37 pm

Okay, I’ll ask the obvious question. Are you protecting links for our material? I will try to back up items to FTM but that may not help since they are also ancestry links. Are you able to back up links on your end?

2 Jen HodnettAugust 23, 2011 at 5:26 pm

Everything is being protected and preserved, links to member contributed images will continue to work, the image itself just won’t be displayed during the maintenance. If you are referring to record images you may have saved to your tree, those should not be affected by the maintenance.

3 SCWBCMAugust 23, 2011 at 6:22 pm

Thank you for the feedback. Hope everyone has a good evening.

4 Night owlAugust 23, 2011 at 9:42 pm

You folks finally got it right. The message is (or should be) very clear as to date and time. I just happen to like to work at that time, but that’s the way it goes sometimes.

5 SCWBCMAugust 24, 2011 at 11:40 am

So far so good. Appreciate the notification, response and lack of any type of crisis. So was this an improvement we should look for or just maintanence?

6 RussMcCleAugust 24, 2011 at 3:12 pm

Your blog was received at 1:11 P.M. MDT time 24 Aug 2011, just a weeee bit late. glad I do not depend on your blog for vital information. Many other sources, warned of this outage on 23 Aug 2011.

7 Jen HodnettAugust 24, 2011 at 3:48 pm

It was just a maintenance update so no new features changes to look for.

8 lprp8August 25, 2011 at 10:21 am

Well it’s the 25th and I can’t do anything without a crash. It started yesterday afternoon. Any hope this will stop? Other sites are working fine on my computer.

9 swayaminfotechAugust 28, 2011 at 11:19 pm

Thank you for the feedback. Hope everyone has a good evening.

10 swayamSeptember 4, 2011 at 11:06 pm

You will still be able to access and make edits to your tree data, but you will not be able to add or delete photos or import or export a GEDCOM file.

About the Ancestry.com blog

Here you will find informational, and sometimes fun, posts from the folks behind the scenes here at Ancestry.com. We hope you’ll notice just how passionate we are about family history and about the products we’re building to help connect families over distance and time.

Visit Ancestry.com
Notifications

Receive updates from the Ancestry.com blog Learn more